Category: bio

Posted in Authors bio dent

Lester Dent

Lester Dent (1904-1959) was born in La Plata, Missouri. As an adult he was an imposing physical specimen, at 6’2″ and over 200 pounds, who cut a dashing figure and lived a vigorous, exciting, globe-trotting life just as adventurous as the characters he was famous for creating. He often sported a moustache and sometimes a beard. Lester Dent was married to Norma Dent, who also helped him in his writing career acting at times as his secretary.

Posted in Authors bio murray

Will Murray

The latest “Kenneth Robeson,” Will Murray has written 22 Doc Savage novels using a variety of pulp-era…

Posted in Authors bio bogart

William G. Bogart

William G. Bogart ghosted fourteen Doc Savage novels. He’s also known among Doc fandom for The Crazy…

Posted in Authors bio coulson

Evelyn Coulson

Evelyn E. Coulson served as Lester Dent’s secretary. Will Murray postulated that Coulson ghosted The Yellow Cloud.

Posted in Authors bio farmer

Philip José Farmer

Philip José Farmer (January 26, 1918 – February 25, 2009) was an American author known for his science fiction and fantasy novels and short stories. He is best known to Doc Savage fans for his biography of The Man of Bronze: Doc Savage: His Apocalyptic Life and the novel Escape from Loki.

Posted in Authors bio davis

Harold Davis

Harold A. Davis was the first ghostwriter to fill in for Lester Dent on Doc Savage. And…

Posted in Authors bio donovan

Laurence Donovan

Laurence L. Donovan (July 1885–March 11, 1948) was an American pulp fiction writer who wrote nine Doc Savage novels between November 1935 and July 1937.

Posted in Authors bio hathway

Alan Hathway

Alan Hathway, noted executive editor at Newsday, wrote four Doc Savage novels: The Devil’s Playground, The Headless Men, The Mindless Monsters, and The Rustling Death.

Posted in Authors bio johnson

W. Ryerson Johnson

W. Ryerson Johnson (October 19, 1901 – May 24, 1995) is credited with authoring three Doc Savage…